Jump to content



Photo

How to play NOLF 2 Multiplayer now that the master server is shutdown


  • Please log in to reply
230 replies to this topic

#1 Eliteone

Eliteone

    UnityHQ founder - Tech Goddess -Server Hostess

  • Admin
  • 4,948 posts
  • Twitter:@UnityHQnet
  • Xfire:eliteonesfi
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Thailand originally. Living in the US presently.
  • Interests:Coffee!!
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 05 November 2008 - 02:38 PM

Some of you may have noticed that you're unable to play multiplayer Nolf 2 since Monday Nov 3rd 2008. Sierra has shutdown the master server for the game.

Don't despair though cause we have a resilient community and we've come up with a workaround so you can continue to play NOLF2 multiplayer.

If anyone is confused at all, here is some less technical guidance.
-You are going to download and install the mod.
-You are going to set your game to always start with that mod.
-You are going to be able to join the SFI UHQ servers with a double-click of your mouse.

1. Download and install the LivesForever mod. Download it from Here
---- a. Create a folder C:\Program Files\Fox\No One Lives Forever 2\Custom\Mods\LivesForever (Spelling is important so name it exactly like this LivesForever )

---- b. Extract the contents (using Winrar or other file extraction utility) of LivesForever.RAR download, when extracted you should have the LivesForever.rez file in the LiveForever folder.
---- c. Yes, you really do have to make that folder.
2. Start NOLF2 like you used to, and select the new mod.
---- a. Instead of the "Play" button, hit "custom," which is right below it.

---- b. Check the box next to the "LivesForever" Mod.
---- c. Start the game.
---- d. Close the game. Now the you have selected the mod, it will stay selected until you restart the game and deliberately unselect it.

3. Start the JoinByIP Tool.

Edited by Eliteone, 19 January 2010 - 10:12 PM.


#2 Hugo

Hugo

    UHQ Benefactor

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 199 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2


Posted 09 November 2008 - 11:50 AM

sad.gif HEEELP!!! ohmy.gif
Can anyone help a Mac-NOLF2-Player here????
I wanted to follow the instructions on how to play NOLF since the server shut down. But I have the creepy feeling that there is no way for a Mac user like me.
For example: I downloaded that LivesForever.rez mod file and put it into a folder like prescribed. But there is no "custom" button below the "play" button. So how can I chose the LivesForever mod???

Im in despair! blink.gif

Hugo

(how can I put a screenshot here to make myself understandable?)

Edited by Hugo, 09 November 2008 - 11:59 AM.

be water my friend

#3 Eliteone

Eliteone

    UnityHQ founder - Tech Goddess -Server Hostess

  • Admin
  • 4,948 posts
  • Twitter:@UnityHQnet
  • Xfire:eliteonesfi
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Thailand originally. Living in the US presently.
  • Interests:Coffee!!
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 09 November 2008 - 07:46 PM

QUOTE (Hugo @ Nov 9 2008, 08:50 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
sad.gif HEEELP!!! ohmy.gif
Can anyone help a Mac-NOLF2-Player here????
I wanted to follow the instructions on how to play NOLF since the server shut down. But I have the creepy feeling that there is no way for a Mac user like me.
For example: I downloaded that LivesForever.rez mod file and put it into a folder like prescribed. But there is no "custom" button below the "play" button. So how can I chose the LivesForever mod???

Im in despair! blink.gif

Hugo

(how can I put a screenshot here to make myself understandable?)



Does your Mac version have a launchcmds.txt file in the NOLF 2 folder?

#4 Hugo

Hugo

    UHQ Benefactor

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 199 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2


Posted 12 November 2008 - 04:32 AM

QUOTE (Eliteone @ Nov 10 2008, 01:46 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Does your Mac version have a launchcmds.txt file in the NOLF 2 folder?


Hi Eliteone,

YES, there is a launchcmds.txt file in the data folder which is in the NOLF2 application folder....

Edited by Hugo, 12 November 2008 - 04:33 AM.

be water my friend

#5 Eliteone

Eliteone

    UnityHQ founder - Tech Goddess -Server Hostess

  • Admin
  • 4,948 posts
  • Twitter:@UnityHQnet
  • Xfire:eliteonesfi
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Thailand originally. Living in the US presently.
  • Interests:Coffee!!
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 13 November 2008 - 06:47 PM

QUOTE (Hugo @ Nov 12 2008, 02:32 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Eliteone,

YES, there is a launchcmds.txt file in the data folder which is in the NOLF2 application folder....



Try adding -mod LivesForever to the launchcmds.txt file

#6 Contract Jill

Contract Jill

    Agent in Training

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:New York, USA
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 15 November 2008 - 07:09 PM


You could try the Nolf Mac Mod-Handler as well since Mac Nolf2 never
came with the ability to load custom files (at least not any easy
way to load them)

http://www.insidemac...ArticleID=10088

Your mileage may vary though. Custom maps and such will load
fine on a Mac, but mods containing compiled binaries or libraries
won't as they aren't compatible with OS X.




#7 SAssER

SAssER

    Operative

  • NOLF2 Update Team
  • 428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:NOLF2, RuneScape
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 16 November 2008 - 05:08 AM

I guess the Join by IP tool won't work on a Mac either. But maybe there is something like batch files for Mac? I don't know.

_____(¯`'·.¸( « www.SAssER.de.gg » )¸.·'´¯)_____

sig.jpg
_______________________________________


#8 Hugo

Hugo

    UHQ Benefactor

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 199 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2


Posted 18 November 2008 - 03:40 PM

Thank you EliteOne. So I changed the file to "launchcmds-mod LivesForever.txt". But it didnt work.

Thanx Contract Jill. I do have the mod handler and it worked fine, I was able to enter some of the custom maps (not all).

And thanx Sasser. I dont know what a batch file is and how to use it. Probably there is no solution for me...?
huh.gif

ISNT THERE ANOTHER MAC-NOLFER OUT THERE BESIDES ME? AM I THE ONLY ONE ??? Buhuhuuuuuh...!
be water my friend

#9 Zymon

Zymon

    Agent

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sw3d3n
  • Interests:Watch paint dry and walk around in circles.
  • NOLF games played:NOLF & NOLF2


Posted 10 December 2008 - 10:17 AM

I just get loads of errors all the time, if it isn't something wrong with the cd-key (which worked fine before) it says that there some problem retrieving the latest version information :<
{BAB}Zymon
You look like you need a monkey!



#10 Belladonna

Belladonna

    "Mom" UnityHQ co-founder

  • Admin
  • 2,634 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA, USA!
  • Interests:GW2
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:08 PM

I thought I'd let people know that I was having trouble with the 'Invalid CD Key' error even though I had downloaded and installed and clicked on everything correctly. It turns out that having anything in my resources folder (where the custom maps go) other than the big map packs was the problem. I removed everything except for the packs and I no longer had the error message. I put one little map in the folder and back to the error. It makes no sense to me, but I figured I'd mention it in case anyone else was having the same problem. blink.gif

#11 =NS= Linda

=NS= Linda

    Agent in Training

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:IJmuiden, Netherlands
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2


Posted 16 December 2008 - 03:19 PM

Hi all,

Join-by-IP works fine on our XP-PC but it doesnt work on the Vista-PC blink.gif
We did everything the same way but no succes.
When we startup NOLF2 via Join-by-IP it gives the 'Invalid-CD-Key'-message and screen says Retail-version instead of LIvesForever.
Are there any suggestions of what to do?
There is only 1 map-rez in resources-map and 7 mods in mods-map.









#12 SAssER

SAssER

    Operative

  • NOLF2 Update Team
  • 428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:NOLF2, RuneScape
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 16 December 2008 - 08:03 PM

Hi Linda... you need to activate the LivesForever mod first.
Start the NOLF2 launcher (not JoinByIP tool but NOLF2.exe), click custom, activate LivesForever mod, click OK then click Play.
Now the screen should say LivesForever... exit the game and now you are ready to use the JoinByIP tool!
Good luck :]

_____(¯`'·.¸( « www.SAssER.de.gg » )¸.·'´¯)_____

sig.jpg
_______________________________________


#13 =NS= Linda

=NS= Linda

    Agent in Training

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:IJmuiden, Netherlands
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2


Posted 17 December 2008 - 03:15 PM

QUOTE (SAssER @ Dec 17 2008, 03:03 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Linda... you need to activate the LivesForever mod first.
Start the NOLF2 launcher (not JoinByIP tool but NOLF2.exe), click custom, activate LivesForever mod, click OK then click Play.
Now the screen should say LivesForever... exit the game and now you are ready to use the JoinByIP tool!
Good luck :]


Hi Sasser smile.gif ,

I did activate the Livesforevermod and the screen did say Livesforever, but when I use join-by-ip-tool I get message invalid CD-key and screen says Retail sad.gif
I checked and double-checked everything but no luck..



#14 Eliteone

Eliteone

    UnityHQ founder - Tech Goddess -Server Hostess

  • Admin
  • 4,948 posts
  • Twitter:@UnityHQnet
  • Xfire:eliteonesfi
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Thailand originally. Living in the US presently.
  • Interests:Coffee!!
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 17 December 2008 - 05:13 PM

QUOTE (=NS= Linda @ Dec 17 2008, 01:15 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Sasser smile.gif ,

I did activate the Livesforevermod and the screen did say Livesforever, but when I use join-by-ip-tool I get message invalid CD-key and screen says Retail sad.gif
I checked and double-checked everything but no luck..


Did you check the Livesforever mod in the custom button per the instructions. Also check the number of custom maps etc you have in your custom folder.

#15 Zymon

Zymon

    Agent

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sw3d3n
  • Interests:Watch paint dry and walk around in circles.
  • NOLF games played:NOLF & NOLF2


Posted 17 December 2008 - 07:40 PM

I got same prob as Linda I think, and I've double-checked everything now.
No custom maps lying around either
{BAB}Zymon
You look like you need a monkey!



#16 SAssER

SAssER

    Operative

  • NOLF2 Update Team
  • 428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:NOLF2, RuneScape
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 18 December 2008 - 02:12 AM

Have you tried to join with batch files yet? Do you have the same problem with them?

_____(¯`'·.¸( « www.SAssER.de.gg » )¸.·'´¯)_____

sig.jpg
_______________________________________


#17 =NS= Linda

=NS= Linda

    Agent in Training

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:IJmuiden, Netherlands
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2


Posted 18 December 2008 - 04:21 AM

QUOTE (SAssER @ Dec 18 2008, 09:12 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Have you tried to join with batch files yet? Do you have the same problem with them?


I have no idea how to do that blush.gif

E1: There is only 1 .rez in customfolder and I checked the mod per the instructions




#18 {IF} Crusader

{IF} Crusader

    Agent

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria, Linz
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2 & Contract Jack


Posted 18 December 2008 - 09:35 AM

I have a similar problem, when i want to join a Server, it says that the game conects to the Server, but nothing is happening, i can wait until ...... i don't know how to fix this??

#19 orion98

orion98

    Agent

  • UnityHQ Member
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USSR
  • NOLF games played:NOLF2 & Contract Jack


Posted 18 December 2008 - 11:31 AM

Make as here. It as, but easier.
http://ura.exofire.n...e=forum&board=5

Also there is an advertising here.
http://www.playground.ru/files/13350/

Edited by orion98, 18 December 2008 - 11:57 AM.


#20 SAssER

SAssER

    Operative

  • NOLF2 Update Team
  • 428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:NOLF2, RuneScape
  • NOLF games played:Plays all NOLF series games


Posted 18 December 2008 - 04:27 PM

QUOTE (=NS= Linda @ Dec 18 2008, 10:21 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have no idea how to do that blush.gif



Open Notepad type in:
QUOTE
NOLF2.exe -GOMULTIJOIN 1 +join 70.86.157.250:27888

(this is for joining the SFI DM server)

save it as e.g. sfi_dm.bat in your NOLF2 folder then double click on the .bat file you just saved.
Now NOLF2 should start and try to join the DM server..

_____(¯`'·.¸( « www.SAssER.de.gg » )¸.·'´¯)_____

sig.jpg
_______________________________________





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users